The Volvo Ocean Race 2017-2018 will follow a new route, which brings the largest amounts of Nautical miles sailed through the Southern Ocean, compared to previous VOR routes.

This is the Route with indicated the Start-Finish locations.

Route VolvoOceanRace 2017-2018 rev1

These are the VolvoOceanRace 2017-2018 participating Cities
  • Alicante
  • Leg 1: Alicante to Lisbon, Start: 22 October 2017, a kind of short sprint as a warm up.  
    Inport race Alicante: 14 October  
  • Lisbon
  • Leg 2: Lisbon to Cape Town, Start: 5 November, and a free route choice without the Fernando de Noronha mar.
       Leg 3: Cape Town to Melbourne, Start: 10 December, a 6,300 Nm   
       challenging race, through the Indian Ocean.
       InPort race Cape Town:  8 December
    Leg 4: Melbourne to HongKong, Start: 2 January 2018, a 5,700 Nm challenging race, through the Tasman Sea. 
    No InPort race in Melbourne.

  • Hong Kong
  • Leg : Hong Kong to Guangzhou, a non-scoring leisure sailing trip. 
    InPort race HongKong: 27 January 
  • Guangzhou
  • Leg 5: Guangzhou to Auckland, Start: 7 February a leg to the halfway mark  
    InPort race Guangzhou: 4 February 
  • Auckland
  • Leg 6: Auckland to Itajai, Start: 18 March, a familiar route rounding Cape Horn. 
    InPort race Auckland: 10 March
  • Itajai
  • Leg 7: Itajai to Newport, Start: 22 April, with some surprises in the Doldrums and into the colder climate
    InPort race Itajai: 20 April 
  • Newport
  • Leg 8: Newport to Cardiff, Start: 20 May,a traditional Atlantic route but more northerly
    InPort race Newport:  19 May
  • Cardiff
  • Leg 9: Cardiff to Gothenburg, Start: 10 June,with a route north of the British islands
    InPort race Cardiff:  8 June
  • Gothenburg
  • Leg 10: Gotherburg to The Hague, Start: 21 June ,the final End-Sprint 
    InPort race Gothenburg: 17 June
  • The Hague
  • THE FINISH for the VolvoOceanRace 2017-2018. 
       InPort race The Hague: 30 June 2018

A Stop-Over normally consist of:
  • Finish of previous Leg,
  • a practice race,
  • some 4 Pro-Am races,
  • an In-Port race, counting in the scoreboard 
  • a Start circuit for the following Leg.

Dates for Starts of Legs at the different cities to follow as well as the dates for In-Port races.